Worcester State University
Center for Teaching & Learning



The Center honors exemplary teaching at WSU by granting two Alden Excellence in Teaching Awards each spring. Recipients receive $500 and are honored during the commencement ceremonies. During the following academic year, recipients of the the Alden Excellence in Teaching Award present talks at a campus celebration of teaching and learning, reflecting on their pedagogy and teaching philosophy.
The Alden Excellence in Teaching Awards commemorate George I. Alden (1843-1926), a prominent Worcester industrialist and educator; the funding for the award comes from the Alden Foundation Trust, which supports education in the greater Worcester area.
Who is eligible?
Full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty who demonstrate teaching excellence and/or innovative teaching practices.
Who can nominate a faculty member?
Any student, faculty or alumni may nominate an eligible faculty member for the Alden Award.
How are the recipients chosen?
Faculty who have been nominated are notified and asked to sign a letter of intent, and then submit a dossier including a teaching statement and up to five pages of supporting materials. From the pool of applicants, the final decision is made by a Selection Committee made up of two faculty members, two current students, and two alumni.
Deadline for nomination: November 1 
Submitting a nomination
Write a letter (or email) and send it to the Director of the CTL, CteachLearn@worcester.edu
Related Links
  Contact the Center
  CTL Events Google Calendar
  CTL Forms
  Academics at WSU
  Governance Forms & Instructions
  2011-2012 Academic Calendar (PDF)
  Academic Support Services
  WSU Library Blog
  IT User Guides
  Grants Office


2013: Maria Fung (Mathematics)

         Karen Woods Weiermann (English)

2012: Stephanie Chalupka (Nursing)

         Steven Corey (Urban Studies)

2011: Alison Dunn (Geography)

         Caitlin Stover (Nursing)

2010: Mary Fowler (Mathematics),

         Eihab Jaber (Chemistry)

2009: Julie Frechette (Communication)

2008: Margaret Kerr (Chemistry)

2007: Francis "Tuck" Amory (Urban Studies)

DataBridge © WSU, 486 Chandler Street, Worcester, MA 01602
Phone: 508-929-8000